Lourenco part of new Amajita chapter


The new-look South Africa Under-20 Men’s national team, Amajita, has a fresh look about it and includes exciting midfielder Ricky Lourenco who is on the books of PEC Zwolle in the Netherlands.

The Under 20 squad has begun serious training ahead of tournaments in Qatar and Russia before they play the African Youth Championships in Senegal in February.

Johannesburg-born Lourenco is a product of the Bidvest Wits youth set up and late last year signed for PEC Zwolle, the club who sold Bafana Bafana midfielder Kamohelo Mokotjo to FC Twente after he had guided them to two cup victories last season.

Zwolle are currently holding their mid-season training camp in Stellenbosch, South Africa but Lourenco is with the national team camp.


Amajita leave for the Middle East on Wednesday evening and take on a Qatar Select team on 10 January 2015 in Doha before flying to St Petersburg, Russia for the Russian Commonwealth tournament that takes place from 15-26 January.

In the absence of Under-20 coach Thabo Senong who is with Bafana Bafana, the team will be under the guidance of David Notoane and goalkeeper coach Wendell Robinson.

The squad went into camp on Sunday, 4 January 2015 and were at full training with the entire team on Monday, 5 January at the School of Excellence.

“I am happy with the team spirit this early. Everyone is raring to go and they are all excited about the upcoming tournaments.

“The two tournaments should lay down a good foundation for our preparations for the CAF African Youth tournament scheduled for Senegal next month,” said Notoane.


Goalkeepers: Jethren Barr (Bidvest Wits), Dumisani Msibi (SuperSport United), Sibongiseni Mkhize (FC Cape Town)

Defenders: Kabelo Seriba (SuperSport United), Denwin Farmer (SuperSport United), Tebogo Moerane (Bidvest Wits), Maphosa Aubrey Modiba (Mpumalanga Black Aces), Madisha Motjeka (Mamelodi Sundowns), Chez Williams (FC Cape Town), Khumbulani Mkhize (Orlando Pirates), Bongani Mathebula (Witbank Spurs)

Midfielders: Morne Nel (SuperSport United), Siphelele Luthuli (University of Pretoria), Keamogetswe Boikanyo (Mamelodi Sundowns), Ricky Lourenco (PEC Zwolle, Netherlands), Hashim Domingo (unattached), Tshepo Liphoko (AmaZulu), Tlotlo Leepile (GD Tourizense, Portugal), Pule Maraisane (GD Tourizense, Portugal)

Strikers: Fagrie Lakay (Santos), Siyanda Ngubo (Orlando Pirates), Dumisani Zuma (Bloemfontein Celtic), Tyrone Sandowns (Gremio, Brazil), Lebohang Mothiba (FC Lille, France)