Sergio Pedro wins the Dia de Portugal Golf Day


Every year on the 10th June, Portuguese National Day is celebrated throughout the world. This special day is better known in Portuguese as Dia de Camoes or Dia de Portugal.

To celebrate this historic event, the Redskins Golf Society in conjunction with Amigos Portugueses, arranged a golf day on the 2nd June at Milnerton Golf Course in Cape Town.

The day was well attended with quality golfers making up a field of 48 players. The condition of the course was good and the greens proved to be a challenge to most of the field. There was an usual strong South Westerly wind blowing which was strange for this time of the year.

Simon Turner da Luz Second place

The format for the day was Singles Stableford with prizes going to the top 3 places. Sergio Pedro won the day on an unbelievable 40 points off a 15 handicap. Second place went to Simon Turner da Luz on 39 points (count out) and Tony de Abreu came third with 39 points. Nearest to the pins for the day went to Charles Hamman (Hole 5), Anthony Moniz (Hole 7), Grant Long (Hole 11) and Justin Roberts (Hole 14). The longest drive for the day went to big hitter Dino Gomes.

Tony de Abreu Third Place

Previous Redskins Tour winners were also recognised with floating trophies, Mario das Neves (2015 Algarve Winner) and Justin Roberts (2016 George Winner).

Mario das Neves floating trophy winner Algarve 2015

At prize giving the Redskins Golf Society were graced with the presence of Dr. Catarina Arruda, Consul General of Portugal in Cape Town and Carlos de Aguiar, President of Amigos Portugueses. Richard Camara, Chairman of the Redskins, welcomed and thanked everyone for their participation. Amigos Portugueses sponsored a floating trophy and prizes for the day. Dr. Catarina Arruda made a brief speech which was well received by all the players and members.

The beautiful and enjoyable day of golf was concluded with a delicious espetada.

Nearest to the pin Hole 5, Charles Hamman
Nearest to the pin Hole 11, Grant Long
Nearest to the pin Hole 7, Anthony Moniz
Justin Roberts, Nearest to the pin Hole 14 and Previous winner 2016
Longest drive of the day, Dino Gomes